2016-2017 New Farm Bureau Officers

Randy Cabral Re-Elected President of Hawaii Farm Bureau

HONOLULU – The Hawaii Farm Bureau announced the election of officers to its board of directors during their 69th Annual Meeting, which was held on October 25- 26, 2016. Board officers are elected to serve a one year term.

Randy Cabral has been re-elected President for another one year term. Randy has been involved in agriculture for over 45 years and recently retired from a long career in the macadamia farming business. He also spent many years farming root crops such as ginger and kalo. He currently operates a small ranching operation on the Big Island.

Darren Strand
was elected as Vice President. Darren is the President and CEO of Maui Gold Pineapple Company and has served as the Maui County Farm Bureau President for 8 years. He follows Chris Manfredi who has served as Farm Bureau Vice President for three terms. Darren will also serve as HFB’s Chair of the Government Affairs Committee.

Lorie Farrell
from the Hamakua County Farm Bureau was elected Secretary. Lorie Farrell is a food & agriculture advocate residing on the Big Island of Hawaii.

Larry Jefts, was re-elected for his 6th consecutive term as Treasurer.

The Hawaii Farm Bureau was founded in 1948 and is a statewide nonprofit organization of nearly 2,000 farm families united for the purpose of analyzing problems and formulating action to ensure the future of agriculture thereby promoting the well-being of farming and the State's economy. HFB serves as Hawaii’s voice of agriculture to protect, advocate and advance the social, economic and educational interest of our Hawaii’s diverse agricultural community.